Collaborate between organizations
ArcGIS users can collaborate with other ArcGIS organizations to organize and share content between individuals, businesses, and communities. You can use groups to share your ArcGIS Hub content with other ArcGIS organizations.
Use groups to collaborate
Groups allow members to work together and view the content shared with the group. When a site, page, or other content is created, the owner can set up the collaboration model using groups. Owners can also manage sharing and collaboration (after content is created) by adding groups in the relevant workspace.
The following are examples of workflows supported by groups:
Share private content with a small number of members to view.
Explore content shared through a group.
Find and view other group members in the group workspace.
Learn more about access and sharing
Use shared update groups
Shared update groups additionally allow members of a group to update items shared with that group. Depending on the type of content, shared update groups allow members to edit the layout, workspace information, content catalog, and so on.
Members can edit content shared with the group and can add and remove content from the group.
The following are examples of workflows supported by shared update groups (connected to a site):
Share content, such as a web map or story, for other members of a shared update group to edit.
License:
If an organization has a license for ArcGIS Hub Premium, members of the site's shared update groups can also create content using app templates, create and manage events, participate in content-based discussions, and use discussion boards.
Partnered collaborations
You can add partnered collaboration members to a group if the following configurations are in place:
Your ArcGIS Online organization has at least one partnered collaboration set up with another ArcGIS Online organization (not your community organization).
The group's settings allow you and other group managers to add members from other organizations. This can be configured when the group is created, in the group workspace, and in ArcGIS Online.
Your ArcGIS Online account has the Invite partnered organization members and Add members from other organizations general privileges and the Assign members administrative privilege.
Before members can be added to a group, their profiles must be visible to the organization or the public and they must have the privilege to join external groups. Collaboration coordinators are added to the group members list automatically and can add partners to the group. You cannot add members from a partnered organization's community organization, as it is not categorized as an ArcGIS Online partnered organization.