Delete items
If an item is no longer needed and no one is using it, you can delete it from the organization.
Before you delete
Consider the following before you delete an item from the organization:
You should mark an item as deprecated before deleting it to allow people who are using the item time to find a replacement item.
You must disable the Prevent this item from being accidentally deleted option before you can delete an item.
Many types of items are placed in a recycle bin when you delete them. After 14 days (336 hours from the time the item is moved to the recycle bin), the process of permanently deleting the item begins. If you need to recover any of these items before they are permanently deleted, you can restore them. For a list of items that are not placed in recycling when you delete them, see FAQ.
Note:
While hosted layers remain in the recycle bin, you cannot create other hosted layers with the same name, because these names must be unique.
When a web map with predefined offline map areas moves to the recycle bin, the offline map areas and offline packages are immediately deleted.
Categories are removed from items when they move to the recycle bin.
Scheduled tasks are removed from notebooks and data pipeline items when they move to the recycle bin.
Items in the recycle bin no longer appear in lists of favorite items.
Items in the recycle bin are not returned when users search for content.
To immediately delete an item without it moving to the recycle bin, check the Permanently delete instead option when deleting. You can also permanently delete an item from the recycle bin before the 14 days expire.
Before you can permanently delete a hosted feature layer, you must permanently delete its dependent layers.
Caution:
Once it is permanently deleted, the item is no longer available and cannot be restored.
Delete a single item
You can delete a single item from the item's page. Use this method if you need to disable the Prevent this item from being accidentally deleted option before deleting the item.
To delete a single item, complete the following steps:
Sign in to your organization.
You must be the item owner or your account must be assigned the default administrator role or a custom role with privileges to manage all content owned by organization members.
Tip:
Organization administrators can also delete items as part of managing the items of a specific organization member.
Open the item page, and click the Settings tab.
Turn off the Prevent this item from being accidentally deleted option for the item, and click Save.
Click Delete item, and do any of the following:
Evaluate the impact to other items.
If this item is used by other items—for example, you delete a web map that is used in three apps—a notification appears indicating that other items are impacted by this deletion. Expand the notification drop-down list to view the other items (up to 20). Click the View usage link to open the Usage > Used by tabs of the item you are deleting.
To avoid breaking the impacted items, click the Deprecate instead button to change the status of the item to deprecated. This warns the owners of the impacted items that your item will soon be deleted and, therefore, that they should use a different item. Clicking the Deprecate instead button closes the Delete item window and does not delete the item.
To immediately delete the item, check the Permanently delete instead check box.
Caution:
The item will not be placed in the recycle bin; it is immediately deleted.
Once the item is permanently deleted, it is no longer available and cannot be recovered.
Click Delete or Permanently delete to confirm your choices.
If the item can be placed in the recycle bin and you did not choose to permanently delete it, the item is moved to the recycle bin and stored in that location for 14 days. If necessary, you can restore the item from the recycle bin before it is permanently deleted.
Delete multiple items
If the items don't have the Prevent this item from being accidentally deleted option enabled, it is more efficient to delete multiple items from the Content page.
Note:
Information about the impact to other items is not available when you delete multiple items from the Content page. To receive information about item usage when deleting from the Content page, select and delete one item at a time.
To delete multiple items, complete the following steps:
Sign in to your organization.
You must be the item owner or your account must be assigned the default administrator role or a custom role with privileges to manage all content owned by organization members.
Open the Content page, and do one of the following:
If you own the items, click the My content tab. Click All my content if items are in different folders, or open the folder where the items are stored.
If you are an organization administrator, click the My organization tab.
Ensure that you're viewing contents in the Table view.
Check the check box next to each item to be deleted, and click Delete.
Items that can be placed in the recycle bin will be stored there for 14 days before being permanently deleted. If necessary, you can restore the items from the recycle bin during that time.
Not all items can be sent to the recycle bin. To see which items will go to the recycle bin, click the number next to Send to the recycle bin in the Delete items pane.
To immediately delete the items instead, click Show more, click Delete permanently, and click Permanently delete (cannot be undone) to confirm.
Caution:
Once they are permanently deleted, items are no longer available and cannot be recovered.
Click Delete to confirm.
If the items can be placed in the recycle bin and you did not choose to permanently delete them, the items are moved to the recycle bin and stored in that location for 14 days. If necessary, you can restore them from the recycle bin before they are permanently deleted.
Permanently delete items
Items in the recycle bin will be permanently deleted automatically after 14 days (24 hours x 14 from the time the item was deleted). To permanently delete an item before that time, delete it from the recycle bin.
One reason to delete an item from the recycle bin is to save the cost of storing the items. Information about how much space is being used by the recycle bin contents appears at the top of the recycle bin.
Caution:
Once it is permanently deleted, an item is no longer available and cannot be recovered.
To permanently delete items, complete the following steps:
Sign in to your organization.
You must be the item owner or your account must be assigned the default administrator role or a custom role with privileges to manage all content owned by organization members.
Open the recycle bin by doing one of the following:
If you own the items, click the My content tab on the Content page, and click the Recycle bin
under Folders.If you are an organization administrator, you can open a member's recycle bin by accessing their content or open the recycle bin for the entire organization from the organization's content.
Check the check box next to each item to be deleted, and click Permanently delete.
To select and delete all items on the page, check the check box at the top of the recycle bin item list.
Click Permanently delete to confirm.