Run models
Once the model has been built and contains at least one tool in the ready-to-run state, you can run the model. The sequence in which the tools run is based on the order the tools were added to the diagram and the order of connections between tools.
Note:
You must be connected to an analysis session and the model must be active to run it.
Update the model environments
By default, analysis models use the same environment settings as the web map the model is opened in and stay synced to the web map's environments. You can update the model environments or stop syncing environments with the web map. Changing the model environment settings will not change the web map environments.
Note:
The Processing extent setting does not support Display extent in ModelBuilder. If Display extent is set in the web map, the model setting will default to Full extent. You can set the processing extent to a particular display extent by choosing the Custom extent option and clicking Set coordinates from current display extent.
To update the model environment settings, complete the following steps:
Complete the steps to open a model, connect to an analysis session, and activate the model if necessary.
Note:
You can open the model environments in view-only mode without connecting to an analysis session.
On the action toolbar, click Set model environments
.The Model environments window appears.
Update the environment settings as necessary.
Updated settings automatically stop syncing with the web map. To revert the change and sync with the web map, click the Click to stay synced with the web map button
.For settings that you want to prevent from updating with the web map settings, click the Click to stop syncing with web map button
.Click Save.
The changes to the analysis model's environments are saved and the model validates. The updated model environment settings will be used when the analysis model is run and will be saved with the model.
Note:
Model environment settings stored with the model (in other words, not synced with the web map) will be used if the model is published and run as a custom web tool. Changes to stored environments in the web tool's Environment settings parameter group will not be honored when the web tool is run. To ensure that an environment setting will be honored by the custom web tool, click the Click to stay synced with the web map button
, and save the model environments before publishing the model.
The settings used during the model run will be based on the saved settings before the run starts. Changes to the model environment settings cannot be saved while a model is running. Changes to the web map environment settings can be saved while the model is running but will not be applied to the model run.
Run a model
To run a model, click Run
on the model toolbar.
Note:
If the Run button is not available, it may mean that none of the tools in the model are in a ready-to-run state. Open the tool dialog box for a tool, and verify that all required parameters are set.
All tools in a ready-to-run state run in succession. The model stops running when all ready-to-run tools have completed successfully or there is an error while running one of the tools.
The status of the tool is indicated with the following icons on the tools and output datasets:
Success
—The tool ran successfully.Warning
—The tool ran successfully but returned one or more warning messages.Failed
—The tool failed.
Use the analysis history for the model run to review warning and error messages.
Rerun a model
There are several reasons why you may need to rerun a model, including iterating on an analysis workflow using different parameters, rerunning an analysis for a different study area, or fixing tools that failed in a previous run.
The following are the options for rerunning a model:
Run only ready-to-run tools
Click Run
on the model toolbar to run all tools in the ready-to-run state, including tools that have been updated since the last model run, tools that failed in a previous model run, and tools that are downstream from a tool that was edited or failed.
Tools in a not-ready-to-run or has-been-run state will not run.
This option is best when you only want to run the updated tools in a model. For example, a model with three tools ran with a failure on the last tool. The first two tools ran successfully and produced the expected outputs. Updating the parameters for the third tool and clicking Run will rerun the third tool without rerunning the first two tools.
Run the entire model
Running the entire model resets all the tools in the has-been-run state to the ready-to-run state and runs the model from the beginning.
This option is best when you want to rerun tools that ran successfully, and the tool parameters have not changed. For example, you create and run a model so all tools and outputs are in a has-been-run state. While reviewing the results, you realize that a feature is missing from the input dataset. You can edit the dataset to add the missing feature, and use the Run entire model option to reset all the tools and rerun the model using the updated data.
Note:
Intermediate outputs from previous model runs are deleted when you run the entire model. Consequently, running the entire model may take longer than running only the tools in a ready-to-run state.
To run the entire model, complete the following steps:
Click the Run down arrow
to expand the menu.Click Run entire model.
Analysis history for models
When a model is run, an entry is added in the web map's analysis history. Individual tool runs in the model are not added to the analysis history.
Once a model completes, you can click the history entry to open the history details, and access the following tabs:
Results—All results generated during that particular model run are shown. If a model is rerun without changing any parameters, new results may not be generated if the previous results are still valid.
Messages—Error and warning messages for the model run as a whole, as well as for each tool run within the model, are shown.
Model environments—The environment settings used when the model was run.
Cancel a model
To cancel a running model, click Cancel
on the model toolbar, or click Cancel analysis
in the History pane. Any results that were generated before the model cancellation will still be available.
Limitations
Time filters using time sliders are not honored by analysis tools run in a model. To specify which data is used in the analysis, apply a filter.