Skip to main content

Reconcile Version (Data Management Tools)

Summary

Reconciles a version against another version in its lineage.

Legacy:

This is a deprecated tool. This functionality has been replaced by the Reconcile Versions tool.

Usage

  • The reconcile process requires that you are the only user currently editing the version and the only user able to edit the version throughout the reconcile process until you save or post.

  • The reconcile process requires that you have full permissions to all the feature classes that have been modified in the version being edited.

  • Versioning tools only work with ArcGIS enterprise data. File and geodatabases don't support versioning.

  • The geodatabase is designed to efficiently manage and support long transactions using versions.

  • The reconcile process detects differences between the edit version and the target version and flags these differences as conflicts. If conflicts exist, they should be resolved.

Parameters

Label Explanation Data type

Input Workspace

The enterprise geodatabase containing the reconcilable version.

Workspace

Version Name

Name of the Edit Version to be reconciled with the Target Version.

String

Target Version

Name of any version in the direct ancestry of the Edit version, such as the parent version or the default version.

String

Conflict Definition

(Optional)

Describes the conditions required for a conflict to occur:

  • Checked—Any changes to the same row or feature in the parent and child versions will conflict during reconcile. This is the default.

  • Unchecked—Only changes to the same attribute of the same row or feature in the parent and child versions will be flagged as a conflict during reconcile. Changes to different attributes will not be considered a conflict during reconcile.

  • BY_OBJECTAny changes to the same row or feature in the parent and child versions will conflict during reconcile. This is the default.

  • BY_ATTRIBUTEOnly changes to the same attribute of the same row or feature in the parent and child versions will be flagged as a conflict during reconcile. Changes to different attributes will not be considered a conflict during reconcile.

String

Conflict Resolution

(Optional)

Describes the behavior if a conflict is detected:

  • Checked—For all conflicts, resolves in favor of the target version. This is the default.

  • Unchecked—For all conflicts, resolves in favor of the edit version.

  • FAVOR_TARGET_VERSIONFor all conflicts, resolves in favor of the target version. This is the default.

  • FAVOR_EDIT_VERSIONFor all conflicts, resolves in favor of the edit version.

String

Acquire locks during reconcile

(Optional)

Determines whether feature locks will be acquired.

  • CheckedAcquires locks when there is no intention of posting the edit session. This is the default.

  • UncheckedNo locks are acquired and the edit session will be posted to the target version.

Boolean

Abort if conflicts

(Optional)

Determines if the reconcile process should be aborted if conflicts are found between the target version and the edit version.

  • CheckedAborts the reconcile if conflicts are found.

  • UncheckedDoes not abort the reconcile if conflicts are found. This is the default.

Boolean

Post version after reconcile

(Optional)

Posts the current edit session to the reconciled target version.

  • CheckedCurrent edits will be posted to the target version after the reconcile.

  • UncheckedCurrent edits will not be posted to the target version after the reconcile. This is the default.

Boolean

Derived output

Label Explanation Data type

Updated Input Workspace

The updated workspace.

Workspace

Environments

Current Workspace, Output CONFIG Keyword, Scratch Workspace

Licensing information

  • Basic: No
  • Standard: Yes
  • Advanced: Yes